Fireside Chats

Everything about: Live Theatre, Cosplay, Comics, Manga, Conventions & Hair Brained Ideas

Cosplay Sat. Barbossa, 3D Printers and convention rules

Hi Universe and Facebook Folks.,

DA DA NA NA It’s the 1st Cosplay Sat. of 2015 huza! Well I thought I’d talk a bit about a issue I will have to concure with my Barbossa Cosplay.

WEAPONS NOT PERMITTED

No metal swords, knives, bayonets, cane-swords, and/or other objects made of metal, which have a sharp point or sharpened edge. Exceptions may be made for cosplayers during the masquerade.

This should look familiar to most of you its the typical policy about swords and the like.

This presents a problem Barbossa’s sword has not been made for larp or wooden.

So how do I get this awesome replica in the door?

Well thats my question to you all for this week. HOW WOULD YOU DO IT? 

Now I have a few ideas. I’ll have entualy a 3D  3d printer and could in theory print the hilt and sea shell hand basket. It would be nice and lightweight being hard plastic instead of metal. I could then glue it into a generic scabbard .

Or I could attach it to a larp blade.

The other option is to buy the replica as cheaply as possible hacksaw the blade off and attach it to a wooden cutlass blade but then I would have a ruined replica and an extra blade laying around.

I could try to make the entire thing as one piece using larp standards but as you can see from the picture it would not be easy making that basket.

So got any bright Ideas?

Author: drakeca89

"It doesn't matter who we are, what matters is our plan":) I'm a Graduate Student at Akron U I'm an entrepreneur, a cosplayer, a avid theatre goer, a movie nut and I have incorporated all of these things into my buissness

Comments are closed.