Fireside Chats

Everything about: Live Theatre, Cosplay, Comics, Manga, Conventions & Hair Brained Ideas

A note about the importance of the Arts

Hi Universe,

Ok I must recommend the movie “About Time” its a rom com that eventually touches on so life issues its great perhaps about 10 min to long but this is not a review.

What this is , is about a song from Ben folds 5 “I am the luckiest” its at the end of the movie. I didn’t at first recognize it but then I did. It was a song that was on a cd that my first real love and broken heart gave me. The song immediately triggered memories and a bittersweet smile.

Music is so very important, it takes us places helps us when we are low is the soundtrack to many moments and helps us rock out.

The arts in school is constantly being cut. Theatre, choir, band, it’s usually the 1st thing to go in a district that is running out of money. How can we let this happen when we can be moved so emotionally by something as simple as a song.

Most of the successful artist talk about how the arts in school changed them and was what made them do what they are now famous for doing. 

We should remember this when we vote down a levy for a school district. Think about what we are really doing. That song at the end of About time may not have been made and I would not have had that bittersweet smile, nor had received it from her in the first place.

So people support the arts its more important then you think.

End of Sermon

Jason Drake

Author: drakeca89

"It doesn't matter who we are, what matters is our plan":) I'm a Graduate Student at Akron U I'm an entrepreneur, a cosplayer, a avid theatre goer, a movie nut and I have incorporated all of these things into my buissness

Comments are closed.